One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

Written by Dale Wasserman, based on the original novel by Ken Kesey

March 2010

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest is the unforgettable story of a mental ward and its inhabitants in early 1960’s America including the tyrannical Big Nurse Ratched and Randle Patrick McMurphy, the brawling, funloving new inmate who resolves to oppose her. Quickly, he takes over the ward and accomplishes what the medical profession has been unable to do for twelve years; he makes a presumed deaf and dumb Indian talk. He leads others out of introversion, stages a revolt so that they can see the World Series on television, and arranges a rollicking midnight party with liquor and chippies. For one offense, Nurse Ratched has him submit to shock treatment. The party is too horrid for her and she forces him to submit to a final correction a frontal lobotomy.

Adapted from Ken Kesey’s novel the play premiered in 1963 on Broadway starring Kirk Douglas as McMurphy, Gene Wilder as Billy Bibbit and Ed Ames as Chief Bromden. The story was adapted for film in 1975 starring Jack Nicholson as McMurphy and won all five major Academy Awards (Best Picture, Actor in Lead Role, Actress in Lead Role, Director and Screenplay).

The Patients 

R P McMurphy - Steve Parker
Chief Bromden - Dr. Stefan Neszpor
Dale Harding - Lindsay Dunn
Billy Bibbitt - Todd Clappis
Charles Cheswick - Tim Williams
Fredericks - Sam Inveradi
Frank Scanlon - Tim Edhouse
Anthony Martini - Steve Mellington
Jim Sefelt - Kevin Burrett
Col Mattherson - Peter Bleby
Ruckly - James Whitrow

The Staff
Nurse Ratched - Tracey Walker
Dr Spivey - Steve Marvanek
Nurse Nakamura/ Sandra - Julie Dickson
Nurse Flinn / Candy - Alison Scharber
Aide Warren - Alex Newell
Aide Williams - Jack Newell
Aide Turkell - Peter Kentish

Director - Hayley Horton
Production Coordinator - Vee Noble